Clean Straw for Nothing and A Cartload of Clay

Author(s): George Johnston


Clean Straw for Nothing traces the journey of journalist David Meredith as he abandons his career to live in exile on a Greek island. A Cartload of Clay brings David back to Australia, to rediscover his deep affection for his native land.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

George Johnson died in 1970, at the age of 59, after a long battle with tuberculosis. Clean Straw for Nothing, first published in 1969, and A Cartload of Clay, first published in 1971, completed his Meredith trilogy - the first book of which is the highly acclaimed My Brother Jack. Both My Brother Jack and Clean Straw for Nothing won the Miles Franklin award.

General Fields

  • : 9780732297251
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Australia
  • : colaus
  • : August 2013
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : Australia
  • : August 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : xii, 418
  • : Paperback
  • : George Johnston